Logo for print Skip to main content

Best Lawyers in America Recognizes Excellence of Bracewell Lawyers Across Practices and Offices

HOUSTON Approximately 120 Bracewell LLP lawyers were recognized for excellence in the 2023 edition of The Best Lawyers in America©.

Eight Bracewell lawyers were honored as a “Lawyer of the Year,” a designation given to individual attorneys who receive the highest overall peer feedback in a specific practice area within a given geographic location. These individuals included:

  • Jeffrey B. Andrews – Technology Law (Houston)
  • Stephen L. Braga – Bet-the-Company Litigation (Washington, DC)
  • Kevin D. Collins – Litigation – Environmental (Austin)
  • Richard C. Danysh – Bet-the-Company Litigation (San Antonio)
  • Barbara S. Jones – Administrative/Regulatory Law (New York)
  • Wilson G. Jones – Health Care Law (Dallas)
  • Nancy C. LeGros – Health Care Law (Houston)
  • D. Kirk Morgan II – Oil and Gas Law (Washington, DC)

In addition, 24 Bracewell lawyers were named to the “Ones to Watch” list, which identifies the top up-and-coming legal talent in the United States:

  • Shannon Baldwin – Banking and Finance Law (Houston)
  • Emily A. Banse – Banking and Finance Law (Houston)
  • Margaret B. Beasley – Commercial Litigation (Washington, DC)
  • W. Jared Berg – Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law (Houston)
  • Patrick J. Connolly – Intellectual Property Law; Litigation – Patent (Seattle)
  • Nancy McEvily Davis – Commercial Litigation; Energy Law; Health Care Law; Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Plaintiffs (Houston)
  • Jordan K. Fine – Commercial Litigation (Houston)
  • Summer B. Greathouse – Corporate Law; Tax Law (San Antonio)
  • Patrick K. Johnson – Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Oil and Gas Law (Houston)
  • Tyler S. Johnson – Energy Law (Seattle)
  • Benjamin J. Martin – Corporate Law; Oil and Gas Law (Houston)
  • Kate Barrington McGregor – Corporate Law (Houston)
  • Andrew W. Monk – Corporate Law (Houston)
  • Brittany M. Pemberton – Energy Law; Environmental Law; Oil and Gas Law (Washington, DC)
  • Lucy Porter – Intellectual Property Law (Houston)
  • Brett W. Rector – Commercial Litigation (Dallas)
  • Eryn E. Roberts – Public Finance Law (Houston)
  • Jonathan L. Seliger – Energy Law (Houston)
  • Derek A. B. Speck – Corporate Law (Houston)
  • John L. Stavinoha III – Energy Law (Houston)
  • Drew Taggart – Commercial Litigation; Patent Law (Houston)
  • Carlton D. Wilde III – Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Intellectual Property (Houston)
  • Stacianne M. Wilson – Commercial Litigation (Houston)

The following Bracewell lawyers were also ranked:


  • W. Stephen Benesh
  • Elizabeth Rippy Bowes
  • Sara M. Burgin
  • Michael Chibib
  • Conor M. Civins
  • R. Joe Hull
  • W. Glenn Opel
  • Victoria N. Ozimek
  • Matthew Paulson
  • Whit Swift
  • Timothy A. Wilkins


  • K. Brock Bailey
  • Ben A. Brooks III
  • Robert R. Collins III
  • Andrew C. Cookingham
  • Jonathan C. Leatherberry
  • Julie Melton Partain
  • George G. Rodriguez


  • Bradley J. Benoit
  • Gregory M. Bopp
  • Heather L. Brown
  • Molly E. Butkus
  • Jason G. Cohen
  • Stephen B. Crain
  • W. Cleland Dade
  • Kate H. Day
  • Bryan S. Dumesnil
  • Cristy C. Edwards
  • Mark C. Evans
  • Jonathan K. Frels
  • Kelly Frels
  • Dewey J. Gonsoulin Jr.
  • R. Todd Greenwalt
  • Amy Karff Halevy
  • Warren W. Harris
  • Ryan S. Holcomb
  • Austin T. Lee 
  • W. James McAnelly III
  • Linda L. Morgan
  • Vincent E. Morgan
  • Robert S. Nichols
  • G. Alan Rafte
  • Constance Gall Rhebergen
  • Aaron P. Roffwarg
  • Douglas W. Rommelmann
  • Phillip L. Sampson Jr.
  • Scott C. Sanders
  • Stephanie Koo Song
  • Charles H. Still Jr.
  • Jeffery B. Vaden
  • Barron F. Wallace
  • R. Daniel Witschey Jr.
  • William A. Wood III

New York

  • Daniel S. Connolly
  • Martin F. Gusy
  • Catherine Hood
  • Frank Lee
  • Robin J. Miles
  • J. Anthony Terrell

San Antonio

  • Leslie Selig Byrd
  • Victoria M. Garcia
  • James H. Kizziar Jr.
  • James P. Plummer
  • J. Tullos Wells


  • Lance W. Behnke
  • Douglas F. Stewart

Washington, DC

  • Michael W. Brooks
  • Kevin A. Ewing
  • George D. Fatula
  • Jeffrey R. Holmstead
  • Jason B. Hutt
  • Lisa M. Jaeger
  • Mark K. Lewis
  • Paul S. Maco
  • Catherine P. McCarthy
  • Charles R. Mills
  • Ann D. Navaro
  • David M. Perlman
  • Scott H. Segal

Established in 1981, Best Lawyers, a BL Rankings, LLC publication, is one of the oldest peer-review publications in the legal profession.