Logo for print Skip to main content

Best Lawyers Recognizes 78 Bracewell Attorneys; Six Cited as Lawyers of the Year

HOUSTON – Bracewell & Giuliani LLP had a total of 78 attorneys selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2016 Edition of Best Lawyers in America, a BL Rankings publication.

Additionally, the following Bracewell attorneys were recognized by Best Lawyers as 2016 Lawyers of the Year in their respective practices:

Jeffrey B. Andrews: Technology Law (Houston)
W. Stephen Benesh: Litigation - Banking and Finance (Austin)
Leslie Selig Byrd: Labor Law - Management (San Antonio)
Mark C. Evans: Project Finance Law (Houston)
Steven H. Gerdes: Public Finance Law (Houston)
G. Alan Rafte: Natural Resources Law (Houston)

The following is a summary of the individual attorneys who are recognized in the 2016 rankings:


Alan D Albright: Litigation - Patent
W. Stephen Benesh: Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Banking and Finance, Litigation - Construction
Elizabeth Rippy Bowes: Public Finance Law
R. Joe Hull: Tax Law
W. Glenn Opel: Energy Law, Public Finance Law
Philip F. Ricketts: Administrative/Regulatory Law, Communications Law, Energy Law
Timothy A. Wilkins: Environmental Law


Ben A. Brooks, III: Public Finance Law
Sanford M. Brown: Banking and Finance Law, Financial Services Regulation Law
Robert R. Collins, III: Public Finance Law
Joseph M. Cox: Commercial Litigation
Janice Z. Davis: Corporate Law
Alfred G. Kyle: Real Estate Law
Jonathan C. Leatherberry: Public Finance Law
Christopher H. Rentzel: Litigation - Labor and Employment, Litigation - Real Estate
George G. Rodriguez: Public Finance Law
Robert E. Sheeder: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment


Evan D. Flaschen: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation - Bankruptcy
Gregory W. Nye: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law


Jay R. Aldis: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management
Charles L. Almond: Tax Law
Jeffrey B. Andrews: Technology Law
John L. Bland: Corporate Law
Gregory M. Bopp: Tax Law
John R. Brantley: Corporate Law
Catherine H. Day: Banking and Finance Law
Glen T. Eichelberger:Trusts and Estates
Mark C. Evans: Banking and Finance Law, International Trade and Finance Law, Project Finance Law
Jonathan K. Frels: Public Finance Law
L. Kelly Frels: Education Law
Steven H. Gerdes: Public Finance Law, Tax Law
Dewey J. Gonsoulin Jr.: Banking and Finance Law
Sean Gorman: Commercial Litigation
R. Todd Greenwalt: Public Finance Law, Tax Law
J. Clifford Gunter, III: Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Energy Law, Natural Resources Law
William D. Gutermuth: Corporate Law
Amy Karff Halevy: Employment Law - Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment
Warren W. Harris: Appellate Practice
William J. Hayes: Banking and Finance Law
Ryan S. Holcomb: Energy Law Houston, TX
Albert B. Kimball Jr.: Litigation - Patent, Patent Law
Michael Kuhn: Commercial Litigation
Marcy E. Kurtz: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation - Bankruptcy
William T. Luedke, IV: Banking and Finance Law, Financial Services Regulation Law
W. James McAnelly, III: Energy Law
Thomas O. Moore, III: Real Estate Law
Jeffrey L. Oldham: Appellate Practice
Gary W. Orloff: Corporate Law
Heather M. Palmer: Environmental Law
G. Alan Rafte: Energy Law, Natural Resources Law, Oil and Gas Law, Project Finance Law
Aaron P. Roffwarg: Real Estate Law
Charles H. Still Jr.: Corporate Governance Law, Corporate Law, Securities/Capital Markets Law, Securities Regulation
Barron F. Wallace: Public Finance Law
R. Daniel Witschey Jr.: Corporate Law
William A. Wood, III: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law

New York

Daniel S. Connolly: Criminal Defense: White-Collar
Richard M. Farmer: Energy Law
Erin S. Hennessy: Trademark Law
John G. Klauberg: Energy Law
Robin J. Miles: Banking and Finance Law
Marc L. Mukasey: Criminal Defense: White-Collar
Mark N. Mutterperl: Litigation - Intellectual Property, Trademark Law

San Antonio

Leslie Selig Byrd: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management
Richard C. Danysh: Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation
James H. Kizziar Jr.: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment
J. Tullos Wells: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management


Lance W. Behnke: Tax Law
David A. Domansky: Energy Law
Douglas F. Stewart: Litigation - Intellectual Property

Washington, D.C.

Richard W. Beckler: Criminal Defense: White-Collar
Kirstin E. Gibbs: Energy Law, Oil and Gas Law
Jeffrey R. Holmstead: Environmental Law
Lisa M. Jaeger: Litigation - Environmental
Mark K. Lewis: Oil and Gas Law
Paul S. Maco: Corporate Compliance Law, Corporate Governance Law, Public Finance Law, Securities/Capital Markets Law
Nancy Jo Nelson: Project Finance Law
Michael L. Pate: Government Relations Practice
Charles H. Shoneman: Energy Law, Oil and Gas Law

Inclusion in Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer-review. The methodology is designed to capture, as accurately as possible, the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical area and legal practice area.